Cottage Cheese vs. Cream Cheese for Protein: Calories, Sodium and the $2 Billion Boom
How 2% cottage cheese compares with cream cheese, ricotta and Greek yogurt on protein, calories, fat and sodium, using only published figures. Also covers Circana sales since the end of 2022, why there is no price per gram of protein, and who should not switch.
views
Why is cottage cheese suddenly hard to find, and is it worth the hunt as a protein swap? Start with the money. US cottage cheese sales topped $2 billion in 2025, according to Circana data reported by the New York Times and cited by AARP. AARP's explanation for the gaps on the shelf is that demand rose faster than production could be expanded.
This piece compares cottage cheese with cream cheese, ricotta and Greek yogurt using the published figures, and shows where those figures stop. Here is the catch up front: none of the sources gives a shelf price for any of the four foods, so there is no cost comparison here. There is only the label arithmetic for working one out.
Sales since 2022, in date order
The sourced baseline is the end of 2022. The rise since then is 82%, which falls short of a doubling. The dated figures below are all Circana data as reported.
| When | What was reported | Source |
|---|---|---|
| End of 2022 | Baseline for the Circana comparison | New York Times, cited by AARP |
| May 2025 | Market report names Kraft Heinz, maker of Philadelphia, as the No. 1 cream cheese seller | Dairy Foods |
| 2025 | Cottage cheese sales above $2 billion, up 82% from the end of 2022 | AARP |
| 2025 | Dollars up 19.2%, volume up 13.9%, private label $673 million | FoodNavigator |
| 52 weeks ending Feb. 22 (year not stated) | Dollars over $2 billion, up 19% year on year; private label $673 million; Daisy $441 million, up 25% | Dairy Foods |
On cream cheese, the evidence supports one hedged line. Summary text links that May 2025 report to a 2% fall for Kraft Heinz in dollars and units, to $794 million. The period is not stated, the full page has not been verified, and nothing in the figure shows sales moving to cottage cheese.
Both cottage cheese reports give private label at $673 million. The extracted Dairy Foods text does not state the year of its Feb. 22 period, so it is unconfirmed whether that period matches the 2025 total. In the same 52 weeks, private label sold more than Daisy's $441 million. The sources give no figures for other brands.
None of the sources measures why demand grew or says when production capacity will catch up.
Dollars up 19.2%, cheese up 13.9%
The gap between those two 2025 numbers is the closest these sources come to a price history.
| Measure | 2025 change | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Dollar sales | +19.2% | Circana via FoodNavigator |
| Volume | +13.9% | Circana via FoodNavigator |
Dollars grew faster than volume, so average dollars per unit went up. That does not mean shelf prices rose. The average also rises when shoppers buy bigger or pricier tubs, and the sources do not separate price from mix.
The nutrition figures as published
The serving bases differ, so the rows can't all be compared straight across. The 2% cottage cheese and whole-milk ricotta rows are USDA values via a USDA data mirror. The 4% cottage cheese figure is from Harvard Chan and the Greek yogurt range is from Johns Hopkins, both quoted by AARP. Cream cheese is a ReciPal database entry, not USDA.
| Food | Serving basis | Protein | Calories | Fat | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cottage cheese, 2% | 100 g | 11.0 g | 84 | 2.30 g | 321 mg |
| Cottage cheese, 4% | Half cup | 14 g | About 120 | Not sourced | Not sourced |
| Greek yogurt, plain nonfat | 5 oz | 12 to 18 g | Not sourced | Not sourced | Not sourced |
| Ricotta, whole milk | 100 g | 7.81 g | 157 | 11.0 g | 105 mg |
| Cream cheese | 1 oz (28 g) | 2 g | 101 | 9 g | 106 mg |
What the published bases can and can't show
Against cream cheese, cottage cheese wins clearly. 100 g of 2% cottage cheese has 84 calories and 11.0 g of protein. One ounce (28 g) of cream cheese has 101 calories and 2 g of protein. The cottage cheese portion is the heavier of the two, and it still has fewer calories and more protein.
Against ricotta, it is a trade. Both are published per 100 g, so they line up directly. 2% cottage cheese has more protein (11.0 g against 7.81 g), fewer calories (84 against 157) and less fat (2.30 g against 11.0 g). Ricotta has much less sodium, 105 mg against 321 mg.
Against Greek yogurt, the sources run out before the answer does. Plain nonfat Greek yogurt has 12 to 18 g of protein per 5 oz. 4% cottage cheese has 14 g per half cup, and 2% cottage cheese is published per 100 g. The sources do not put these on a common basis, and they give no calories, fat or sodium for the yogurt. They do not show which one is the better protein buy.
Here is the catch on the cottage cheese side: sodium, at 321 mg per 100 g. The sources also lack fat and sodium figures for 4% cottage cheese.
No shelf prices in the sources
None of the sources gives a shelf price for cottage cheese, cream cheese, ricotta or Greek yogurt. So the cost column this comparison needs stays empty, because any number put there would be invented.
The tub's own label is enough to fill it in for one store on one day: shelf price ÷ (grams of protein per serving × servings per container) gives the price per gram of protein. Run the store brand through the same sum. In the Feb. 22 period, private label sold $673 million, more than Daisy's $441 million.
Swapping on a bagel or in a dip
Spreads are measured by the ounce, but the sources publish 2% cottage cheese only per 100 g. They give no per-ounce figure for it. The published figures still show the size of the calorie gap: 100 g of 2% cottage cheese, at 84 calories and 2.30 g of fat, has fewer calories and less fat than a single ounce of cream cheese, at 101 calories and 9 g of fat. That makes the swap mainly a calorie decision. The 14 g protein figure comes from a half cup of 4% cottage cheese, not a spread-sized portion.
It is general cooking knowledge that fat affects texture in baking. None of the sources tests a cottage cheese swap in any recipe, so they can't say how a particular dip or cake turns out.
Who should not switch
Anyone keeping sodium down. AARP's label guidance is to look for under 200 mg of sodium per serving. USDA's 2% cottage cheese has 321 mg per 100 g, so a 100 g portion is over that line. Whole-milk ricotta has 105 mg per 100 g, but it also has 157 calories and 11.0 g of fat against cottage cheese's 84 and 2.30 g. The sources give no sodium figure for Greek yogurt or 4% cottage cheese.
Anyone leaving Greek yogurt for the protein. The sources do not show cottage cheese coming out ahead. The two are published on different bases, and the yogurt's other figures are missing.
Still unknown
The sources give no forecast. They project no 2026 sales and give no date for production catching up with demand. To finish this comparison, the sources would need calories, fat and sodium for Greek yogurt, fat and sodium for 4% cottage cheese, a per-ounce figure for 2% cottage cheese, and shelf prices for all four foods. No video accompanies this piece because none could be matched to these sources.
Karim Haddad
Is that discount real? Karim Haddad has tracked the same prices for years to find out. He runs the deals coverage out of Beirut.
View profileMore from Karim Haddad
View all →
VXUS vs VEU vs SPDW vs EEM (Plus IEMG and VWO): Which International ETF Does What
Statin or Not: Is a Calcium Scan Worth Paying For? What the CorCal Trial Found
Leave a Comment